Howdy, y’all!

Hello! My name is Amanda and I am a Dietetic Intern from Nashville, TN. I have a passion for nutrition, health, and, of course, FOOD! My fiance often says he does not understand why I am going to be a dietitian when I love food so much. In particular, cookies. And Reeses peanut butter cups. And cupcakes. I tell him he doesn’t understand dietitians! Oh well, I’m working on him. (FYI I love my fruits and veggies, too!)

ImageThere we are! Funny story- we both have Celiac disease, which, if you did not know, requires a lifelong gluten-free diet. Even funnier story- I was diagnosed before we met, and he was diagnosed 3 years after we met. No, Celiac is not contagious, just in case you were wondering. That being said, I will be posting lots of gluten-free recipes. I know, not everyone is on a gluten-free diet, nor should everyone have to be on a gluten-free diet. I don’t want to leave my gluten-eating friends out! Many recipes can be adapted using either wheat flour or gluten-free flours, and I will try to let you know how to substitute for both. I am always open to feedback about what tastes great, and what might not taste so good!

Over the next few weeks, I will also be training to run my first 5k! I did the Color Run 5K in Nashville earlier this month, but I walked it. I am a total wimp when it comes to running. My next will be the Mayor’s Challenge Walk/Run 5K in November, and I am determined to run!

I am so happy that you stopped by! I am looking forward to sharing lots of great tips with you about healthy living, healthy eating, and having fun doing both! Feel free to leave me a comment- Do you have any tips on how to train to run a 5k? Do you or someone you know have Celiac disease?

 

Leave a Reply

